New Page 2
New Page 2

Economic Empowerment
Industrial Development
Trade, Export and Investment
Financial Assistance
Legislation and Business Regulation

Economic Research Advisory Network (ERAN)


About ERAN | Call for Papers | Membership | Contacts us | Previous Conferences | Research Agenda | Editorial Policy


Economic Research Advisory Network (ERAN) Members

Name: Wilma Viviers

Contact details:

TRADE research focus area
North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus)
Private Bag X6001

Phone: +27 18 299 1445
Fax: +27 87 231 5540

Wilva Viviers is currently the World Trade Organisation (WTO) Chair holder, research professor in International Trade, leader of the Trade and Development (TRADE) research focus area and NRF-rated researcher at the North-West University, Potchefstroom campus.

Wilva's status as an academic is based on her publications in the fields of Competitive Intelligence and Export promotion that appear in more than 50 peer-reviewed journals, book chapters and national policy reports. Her work and contribution to research, policy and practice aimed at improving/ promoting South Africa's exports, is recognised and acknowledged internationally.

Her research on export promotion has made a significant contribution to developing a scientifically-based decision support model (DSM) for the identification of South African export opportunities, which is a national priority. This research has led to national policy formulation and implementation in South Africa.

She has successfully supervised 10 PhD and 19 master's students (some who have been awarded winners in their own right), chaired workshops for various stakeholders within South Africa and abroad on academic as well as practitioner-relevant questions. She has been appointed to several editorial boards and national and international committees, which provide additional evidence that a wide range of stakeholders hold the research in high regard.

She has received many research grants and several prizes, including International Trade Institute of Southern Africa's (ITRISA's) ()' fellowship for her contribution to improve South Africa's teaching and research in International trade; Women in Research award of the South African Association of Women Graduates, five university teaching excellence, the Department of Science and Technology's 'Distinguished Women in Science' first runner-up award in the Social Science and Humanities category as well as the recipient of the WTO chair from 2014 to 2018.

Tertiary education

1979: BCom Economics and Statistics (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education), Cum Laude

1980: HED Education (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education), Cum Laude

1982: BEd Education (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education), Cum Laude

1983: BCom (Honours) Economics (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education), Cum Laude

1984: MCom Economics (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education), Cum Laude

1988: DCom Economics (Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education)

1990: Certificate in Export Practice, (Institute of Export - South African Foreign Trade organisation (SAFTO)