New Page 2
New Page 2

Economic Empowerment
Industrial Development
Trade, Export and Investment
Financial Assistance
Legislation and Business Regulation

Media Statements

the dti to Host the Furniture Design Competition in Durban

The Department of Trade and Industry (the dti), South African Furniture Initiative (SAFI), and its partners, will host an annual Furniture Design Competition at the Durban Exhibition Centre on Monday, 20 March 2017. The competition is one of the Industrial Policy Action Plan (IPAP) furniture programs, to respond to design skills shortage in the furniture industry.

The main objective of the design competition is to raise and nurture design capabilities in the furniture sector, raise the image of the furniture manufacturing industry in the country, to reposition and to grow the industry’s competitiveness by encouraging new product design and differentiation.

According to the Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies the competitors will compete in three categories which are the student, the established manufactures categories, and the newly introduced development category. Davies says the exhibition and announcement of the winners will take place alongside the Durban Decorex scheduled to take place from 18-21 March 2017.

“This year’s theme which is ‘Collaborative and Innovative Workspaces’ seeks to provide collaborative and innovative workspace solutions. This theme seeks to address the changes in workspaces, and align with how people interact in the work environment,” says Davies.

He adds that this competition will benefit the industry and influence products manufactured locally, promote industrial growth through differentiated products, as well as the use of local inputs such as wood and textiles in the furniture manufacturing sector.

The finalists of the design competition hail mainly from the four provinces which are Gauteng, Western Cape, Kwa-Zulu Natal and the North West Province and include current and former students, established manufactures as well as new designers.

The finalists have been listed as below:

 Hugo Melt Master Arts Design House Western Cape
Adam Connor Thinktank Industries Gauteng
 Clive Hlabangwani Thari E Tee Gauteng
 Mpumelelo Mfula The Playground CreativesGauteng
 Kim Newell 
 PVT Gauteng

 Sphiwe Masango   
 Tshwane University of Technology Gauteng
 Patience Rachidi Tshwane University of Technology Gauteng
 Domine Stapelberg Tshwane University of Technology Gauteng
 Elizabeth Cilliers Potchefstroom University North West
 Simphiwe Mlambo    Durban
 Durban University of Technology Kwa-Zulu Natal
 Akhona Thusi Durban University of Technology Kwa-Zulu Natal

 Tebogo Seadira Skills to Furnish Gauteng
 Maria Seruwe Graft Creations North West
 Grant Morris University of Cape Town Western Cape

The Furniture Design Competition prizes are sponsored by Furntech, IDC, SABS Design Institute, Co-Design, Elmo, Mecad- Solidworks Modena – Autodesk, and PG Bison.

Sidwell Medupe-Departmental Spokesperson
Tel: (012) 394 1650
Mobile: 079 492 1774
Issued by: The Department of Trade and Industry
Follow us on Twitter: @the_dti